You have a personal MÜHLE account.

Forgot password?

You want the benefits of a personal MÜHLE account?
To create your new account click here.
Order subtotal  €
Grand total 0,00 €

Nomad the Barber

Would you like a millimetre extra? Barbershops are more than just glorified hairdressers for men. They are a spa, meeting point and retreat. Visiting Miguel Gutierrez, famous as Nomad Barber in Berlin, London and on YouTube


On an early morning in Berlin-Kreuzberg, Miguel Gutierrez welcomes his visitors with a strong British accent: "Good mornin'!" The man in his early thirties takes another deep drag on his cigarette before he leads us in, passing a coffee machine and luminous letterings, down into the basement, where his Berlin clientele takes a seat in leather armchairs. In the barber scene, Gutierrez is known as Nomad Barber. For 14 years, he has been cutting, shaving and grooming his customers' hair. In addition to his Berlin store, he runs another one in London. Gutierrez became famous in 2012 when he went on a journey around the world round-the-world hile releasing his web series "Nomad Barber" on YouTube. In short videos, he documents the craft of dfferent barbers from various countries.

Mr Miguel Gutierrez, 14 years ago, back in the day, you were only 16 and you decided to become a barber. A picture is said to have sparked your interest. What is so special about it?

The picture shows my father and his brother - both of them were barbers. They looked so smart standing in front of their shops wearing their white coats.

Why did this leave an impression on you?

The friend of my father's had four stores - that impressed me. I am from Liverpool, not from the best, but also not from the worst part of town. Here, you decide on a job and then stick to it without considering other options. However, my father's friend followed a different path. Every time I saw him, he was driving another car, he was travelling all the time and was generally just doing his own thing.

Did the barber's trade appeal to you as well?

I always liked going to the barber, especially because of the atmosphere. What I liked most about it was the idea of opening my own business. I wanted to be a businessman making money. When I was still in school, I sold sweets to my fellow students after lunch.

Your timing was excellent: the barber business has been booming for years. When did you first realise that you might become part of a huge trend?

I became aware of it quite late. Compared to Germany, Great Britain always had plenty of barber shops, although not as many as today. Nobody could have imagined how popular this is now.

Today, almost every town has a hip barber shop. How did that happen?

As everywhere else, trends are spreading at an incredible pace through social media. Somebody might start running a cool barber shop in London and suddenly copies of it start to pop up in Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle - with the same interior, the same accessories.

Nowadays, men seem to have a renewed interest in proper attire, celebrating their vanity, investing in grooming their beards. Have barber shops had anything to do with this?

For a long time, barbers had a very bad reputation. In the 1970s and 1980s, long hair became popular among men. As a result, they rarely had their hair cut. This meant that they had to compete for every single customer, and so prices dropped. At the low point, a haircut only cost three pounds instead of 20. Barbers had to be quick in order to make any money at all, and so quality suffered. Today, things are the exact opposite: going to the barber is like going to the spa. They offer drinks, facial massages, grooming - due to the fact that men have a revived interest in vanity and therefore need places to celebrate this.

You have won numerous awards, have 100,000 follower on instagram, about 130,000 subscribers on YouTube and shops in London and Berlin. You even have more plans: your very own webshop and care products. When did you realise that you could become a brand yourself?

I realised that when I first started travelling and running my web series "Nomad Barber". Brands started to contact me, asking if we could collaborate. Back then, they were only small projects; recently, I started working with Audi and Visa.

Your first trip lasted a year. You travelled five continents, met countless barbers and portrayed them. What did you learn during this time?

For me, it was never about the technique that others use. I was interested in the people themselves, the places. I was keen to find out about the living conditions of people working in the same profession. How do you become a barber in India? What are these people's goals? Do they do it because they want to have a career? I couldn't find anything about it online - and so I set out to find the answers myself.

What social status does a barber have in India?

The Indian society is strongly a ected by the caste system. The barbers come from the bottom. Most of their fathers were barbers themselves. What struck me most was how content these men were. They were happy - even though their customers don't treat them well, and even though they show them who's in charge every single second.

What is the situation like in Turkey?

Grooming is very important there and barbers are respected. You'll never encounter a man with long hair. The beards are trimmed perfectly. Somebody will move around serving tea all the time. Us barbers all use the same tools. Technically, we speak the same language. However, the rest is what makes us so dfferent from each other. In India, people start working at the age of 12 because they have to. In Great Britain, people might start to work at the age of 40 to realise a long-held dream.


From our magazine 30 Grad 

This interview was published in our magazine "30 Grad", that we are sending every six months to our clients and partners. 

Get your free subscription here.


Online-Tutorials with Miguel Gutierrez / Nomad Barber

In our Berlin shop we teamed up with Miguel Gutierrez and filmed some tutorials:

How to clean a shaving brush

How to shave with a safety razor

How to shave with a straight razor

Hans-Jürgen Müller GmbH & Co KG © 2018. All rights reserved. - * All prices incl. VAT excl. shipping

Für Bestellungen in der Vorweihnachtszeit verlängern wir die Widerrufsfrist bis zur 1. Kalenderwoche des neuen Jahres.
Sie haben ein persönliches MÜHLE-Konto.

Passwort vergessen?

Sie möchten die Vorteile eines persönlichen MÜHLE-Kontos nutzen?
Zum Anlegen Ihres neuen Kontos klicken Sie bitte hier.
Zwischensumme  €
Gesamtsumme 0,00 €

State of the Bart

Barbershops sind sehr viel mehr als Friseure für den Mann. Sie sind Wellness-Oase, Treffpunkt, Rückzugsort. Zu Besuch bei Miguel Gutierrez, der als Nomad Barber in Berlin, London und auf YouTube erfolgreich ist 


Vormittags in Berlin-Kreuzberg. Miguel Gutierrez begrüßt seinen Besuch mit starkem britischen Akzent. Der Anfang 30-Jährige nimmt noch einen tiefen Zug an der Zigarette, bevor er hineinführt, vorbei an leuchtenden Schriftzügen, hinunter ins Untergeschoss, wo seine Berliner Kundschaft in Ledersesseln Platz nimmt. In der Barberszene kennt man Gutierrez als Nomad Barber, seit 14 Jahren schneidet er Haare, rasiert, pflegt. Neben seinem Berliner Barbershop betreibt er einen in London. Bekannt wurde Gutierrez 2012, als er auf Weltreise ging und auf YouTube seine Webserie "Nomad Barber" veröffentlichte. In kurzen Videos dokumentiert er darin das Handwerk unterschiedlicher Barbiere in unterschiedlichen Ländern.

Mr. Miguel Gutierrez, vor 14 Jahren, Sie waren damals 16, entschieden Sie sich, Barbier zu werden. Für diesen Schritt entscheidend soll ein Foto gewesen sein. Was hat es mit der Aufnahme auf sich?

Das Bild zeigt meinen Vater und dessen Bruder - die beiden waren Barbiere. Ich fand sie so smart, wie sie dastanden in ihren weißen Barbierkitteln vor ihrem Shop ...

Warum hat Sie das beeindruckt?

Der Freund meines Vaters hatte vier Geschäfte, das imponierte mir. Ich komme aus Liverpool, nicht aus der schlimmsten Ecke - auch nicht aus der besten. Hier läuft es so: Man wählt einen Job, den macht man sein Leben lang, über andere Optionen denkt man nicht nach. Der Freund meines Vaters aber war anders - jedes Mal, wenn ich ihn sah, kam er mit einem anderen Auto angefahren, war ständig im Urlaub, machte sein Ding.

Reizte Sie auch das Handwerk des Barbiers?

Ich fand es immer toll, zum Barbier zu gehen, die Atmosphäre gefiel mir. Aber es war vor allem die Vorstellung, ein eigenes Business aufzubauen, die mich reizte. Ich wollte Geschäftsmann sein, irgendwo Geld machen - schon als kleiner Junge habe ich meinen Mitschülern nach dem Schulessen Süßigkeiten verkauft.

Ihr Timing war exzellent: Das Barbiergeschäft boomt seit Jahren. Wann ahnten Sie erstmals, dass Sie Teil eines großen Trends werden können?

Spät. Im Gegensatz zu Deutschland gab es in Großbritannien immer Barbershops, wenn auch längst nicht so viele wie heute. Die Präsenz, die das Thema mittlerweile hat, konnte sich niemand vorstellen.

Heute findet man in fast jeder Stadt hippe Barbershops. Wie ist das eigentlich passiert?

Wie überall anders auch: Trends verbreiten sich rasend schnell über Social Media. Jemand betreibt einen coolen Barbershop in London und plötzlich gibt es einen Abklatsch davon in Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle - mit dem gleichen Interieur, den gleichen Accessoires.

Ma?nner legen wieder mehr Wert auf gute Kleidung, leben ihre Eitelkeit, investieren in die Pflege ihrer Ba?rte. Hat die Verbreitung auch etwas damit zu tun?

Barbiere hatten sehr lange einen sehr schlechten Ruf. In Großbritannien wurden in den 1970ern und 1980ern lange Haare bei Männern modern. Sie ließen sie daher viel seltener schneiden. So wurde in den Barber Shops um jeden Kunden gekämpft, die Preise wurden gesenkt. Irgendwann kostete ein Haarschnitt nur noch drei Pfund anstatt 20. Die Barbiere mussten schnell sein, um überhaupt irgendwie Geld zu verdienen und die Qualität litt. Heute hat sich das wieder ins komplette Gegenteil verwandelt: Zum Barbier zu gehen, ist Wellness. Es gibt Getränke, eine Gesichtsmassage, Pflege - und das liegt natürlich auch daran, dass Männer ihre Eitelkeit wieder zelebrieren wollen und Orte dafür brauchen.

Sie haben zahlreiche Preise gewonnen, über 100.000 Follower auf Instagram, knapp 130.000 YouTube-Abonnenten, Shops in London und Berlin - und Sie haben Pläne: einen eigenen Webshop, eigene Pflegeprodukte. Wann haben Sie begriffen, dass Sie selbst zur Marke werden können?

Als ich das erste Mal auf Reisen war und mit meiner Webserie "Nomad Barber" anfing. Brands begannen mich zu kontaktieren, fragten, ob sie mit mir arbeiten können. Damals waren es kleine Projekte, zuletzt habe ich mit Audi und Visa kooperiert.

Ihre erste Reise dauerte ein Jahr. Sie waren auf fünf Kontinenten unterwegs, haben unzählige Barbiere getroffen und porträtiert. Was haben Sie gelernt?

Es ging mir nie um die Technik der anderen. Mir ging es um die Menschen, die Orte, ich wollte erfahren, wie die Leute leben, die denselben Beruf ausüben wie ich. Wie wird man Barbier in Indien? Was sind die Ziele der Menschen: Machen sie das, weil sie Karriere machen wollen? Online konnte ich zu alldem nichts finden, also habe ich selbst nach Antworten gesucht.

Welchen Status hat ein Barbier in Indien?

Die indische Gesellschaft ist vom Kastensystem geprägt, die Barbiere kommen von ganz unten. Meist waren die Väter schon Barbiere. Was mich faszinierte, war die Zufriedenheit der Männer. Sie waren glücklich. Obwohl die Menschen, die zu ihnen kommen, sie nicht gut behandeln, sondern in jeder Sekunde deutlich machen, wer das Sagen hat.

Wie ist es in der Türkei?

Pflege ist dort sehr wichtig, Barbiere sind respektiert. Dort sieht man keinen Mann mit langen Haaren. Die Bärte sind perfekt getrimmt. Immer läuft jemand mit Tee umher. Wir Barbiere benutzen die gleichen Werkzeuge, technisch gesehen sprechen wir eine Sprache. Der Rest ist komplett unterschiedlich. In Indien fangen die Leute mit 12 Jahren an zu arbeiten, weil sie müssen und in Großbritannien eventuell erst mit 40, weil sie sich selbst verwirklichen wollen.

Aus dem 30 Grad Magazin

Dieses Interview stammt aus unserem halbjährig erscheinenden Magazin "30 Grad".

Werden Sie hier kostenfrei Abonnent.


Online-Tutorials mit Miguel Gutierrez / Nomad Barber

In unserem Berliner Geschäft haben wir gemeinsam mit Miguel Gutierrez einige Tutorials gedreht:

How to clean a shaving brush

How to shave with a safety razor

How to shave with a straight razor

Hans-Jürgen Müller GmbH & Co KG © 2019. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. - * inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versandkosten